Veg Out!

Until recently we had a regular veg box delivery from a well-known national supplier.  Following a visit to the Transition Chichester annual fair we decided to make a change and join up with a local company, Veg Out.  We now have a weekly delivery of beautiful organic veg grown just down the road in Sidlesham – a much more environmentally friendly option.

Here are some of the recent offerings, although not all from the same week as we have a bit of a backlog following our weekend away in Lyme Regis.

We also have potatoes, carrots, onions, parsnips and swede.

Here are three of the weekend’s culinary creations.

I’ve never been a great fan of fennel but I discovered a recipe online a while ago for a fennel, fig and goat’s cheese pizza which has changed my view of this vegetable.  I don’t have a link to the recipe but this is a cheat’s version with a ready-made spelt flour base from Manuka Wholefoods.  The fennel is sliced and roasted for about 20 minutes at around 200 degrees in a fan oven until slightly caramelised and then layered on the base with sliced figs and goat’s cheese. I used a log shaped cheese which I tore into pieces.  The pizza takes around 12 minutes at the same temperature to cook.  I couldn’t take a photo of the finished product as we were starving and it disappeared within minutes!

The green sauce tastes much better than it looks and is a pesto made from the cavolo nero.  I have made a raw version of this with kale before but the recipe for this cooked version is here.  I didn’t follow it to the letter as I couldn’t be bothered to get the scales out to weigh the prepared leaves and I guessed the other quantities.  I will be using the pesto tonight with some pasta for a quick supper.

Finally, the soup is made with onions, carrots and parsnips roasted in the oven with a dash of olive oil and then whizzed up in the blender with vegetable stock, almond milk and seasoning to the required consistency.  Very quick and easy and the recipe (such as it is) can be adapted to use any vegetables you have to hand.  I think the next batch will include the turnips and swede.

Leave a Reply

