An Odd Looking Vegetable

A recent arrival in the Veg Out veg bag was this enormous celeriac. I’ve never bought or cooked celeriac before, having always been put off by its appearance and the fact that I’m not that keen on the taste of celery which it obviously resembles.

IMG_1738

However, I am committed to using every vegetable that arrives in the house regardless of its level of attractiveness. My research indicated that soup would be a good option but then I found this recipe for roasted celeriac by Sophie Grigson. There was a bottle of Marsala lurking at the back of a cupboard so I decided to put it to good use.

The finished dish smelled amazing but as I was still keen to make soup I blended everything from the dish with some almond milk (I have a serious aversion to cow’s milk which is a hangover from being forced to drink school milk too long out of the fridge) and black pepper. The soup was served with a swirl of crème fraiche and roasted garlic and was smooth, creamy and really delicious.

Another kitchen success was the result of using up the remains of the cavolo nero pesto from a previous post which I topped with sliced goat’s cheese and encased in some ready-made puff pastry for a speedy lunch.

I now have a beautiful cabbage to do justice to and, having read Henry Dimbleby’s article in the Cook section of last Sunday’s Guardian, I think I will take his advice and try roasting it tonight.

IMG_1736

I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

