Vintage Treasures

After a nomination for this blog by springystitches as part of The Inspirational Blogger Award I started following Mrs Fox’s Finery.   This blog is a riot of colour, vintage finds and creativity.

Her description of a visit to Arnage – the Home of Vintage was an inspiration in itself so on a brief visit to Midhurst recently I took the opportunity see for myself.  There’s not much I can say that Mrs Fox hasn’t already said and she took some great photographs of the interior.  Beverley, the owner, is absolutely lovely and the shop is a real treasure trove for all things vintage.  It is definitely worth a visit.  Everything is presented so beautifully and there was a truly gorgeous skirt in the window.  The sun was shining so my photograph really doesn’t do it justice.

I wasn’t planning to buy anything but the minute I walked through the door and spotted this 1920s wicker hat box I knew I wouldn’t be able to leave without it.  I did think I would save it for a Christmas present but I’m not so sure now.  It still has a luggage label on it from 1961 as well as a little Italian security stamp.  It is in very good condition, inside and out, and I love it.

I don’t have a hat to carry around when I go away so perhaps I’ll just fill it with fabric.

Thank you for the recommendation Mrs Fox.

 

8 thoughts on “Vintage Treasures

  1. I can quite see that it was impossible to come away from the shop without the hat box. Wow, what a beauty and with the luggage label too. Now that would make a good story!

    Like

  2. I am so pleased you went to check out the shop for yourself the owner made the visit for me.

    Great find! This will look amazing with a number of your wonderful homemade dresses as a hand bag!!!

    Thank you so much for the lovely words about my blog! I may have to use them as my new tag line.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

