Delaying Tactics!

I know I’m not alone in this but as soon as I set myself any kind of deadline I start to find a multitude of things to distract me until I’m up against the wire and have no choice but to burn the midnight oil to get something done.  One of the only times I’ve ever had an empty ironing basket was when I was studying for some major exams about ten years ago.  Even the dreaded ironing was more attractive than revision!

Having made a commitment to finish my first Brumby Skirt by 10 September as part of the Made Up Initiative I had every intention of at least tracing off the pattern and cutting out a toile over the weekend.

What I actually did ……

READING

Having recently finished reading A Place Called Winter, the latest novel by the brilliant Patrick Gale, I decided I would re-visit my collection of his books.  During the weekend I finished re-reading Notes From an Exhibition, which remains my favourite, and assembled a pile of all the others.  The best discovery was that I have a copy of Ease which for some reason I’ve never read.  It has been interesting to read one of his first novels (from 1986) having just read his most recent. I suddenly realised 1986 was nearly 30 years ago which was quite alarming!  I also learned a new word, “pelf”.  I thought it was a misprint but apparently it means “money, especially when gained in a dishonest or dishonorable way”!  As in “pilfer”.

image

BAKING

Inspired by the Great British Bake Off I decided to try making some soda bread with added flavourings.  I settled on feta, sundried tomato and olive.  I’ve made soda bread several times but I decided to try a gluten free flour blend this time.

image

It looked OK but here’s what W said about the result :

It is somewhere between bread and cake

Definitely not the reaction I was looking for and despite the ingredients it just didn’t taste of very much.  It certainly needed more salt.  Back to the drawing board.

SEWING

I sewed up the gaps in the button band of my latest Refashion and inserted a couple of press studs between the top two buttons so I can sit down in the skirt without embarrassment.  A definite improvement.

I also nearly finished sewing a new Coco top with fabric bought at the Fabric Godmother’s recent open day which I’d cut out almost as soon as I got home.  This is the Coco top I have been wanting to make since first getting the pattern but have never found quite the right fabric to make the funnel neck stand up properly.  I’ve already blogged about the first one which drooped disappointingly and I ended up unpicking the whole thing and re-sewing the neckline.  I have made two others, but both without the funnel neck.

When I laid out the Coco pattern pieces I realised I had probably got enough fabric to make two tops, the second one being from the latest issue of Love Sewing Magazine.  I bought the magazine for the free pattern to make the top on the cover which has an interesting feature at the back but then discovered another pattern inside for a very simple cropped top.

I pinned everything out, got three-quarters of the way through cutting out and then realised I’d planned for the stripes on the funnel neck to run the opposite way to the rest of the garment – and there wasn’t enough left to change direction.  Not to be defeated I cut it out in two pieces and sewed them together.  Can you see the join?

image

Going back to the magazine pattern, this was a REALLY quick and easy make and one which would be ideal for a beginner.  Unfortunately I thought I’d make the large version so that it was slouchy and could be worn as a top layer but it really is too big.  When will I ever learn??  I may take it in.

I finished off the Coco top last night and here it is.  The fabric is quite heavy so this is more for autumn/winter wear and I’m planning to make a short black skirt so I can wear it with thick tights and boots.  Very 60s.

Did I mention making a skirt just then?  Back to where I’m supposed to be and I have promised myself that I will get that Brumby toile sewn up this week.  I’ve still got to make a final decision to make on the fabric choice too …

6 thoughts on “Delaying Tactics!

Leave a Reply

