Giveaway Winner and a Celebration

Sorry for the delay …. the draw did take place at the allotted time but I didn’t get a chance to make an announcement straightaway!

image

Instead of a hat for the draw I used the voluminous pocket of my lovely new apron from The Stitch Society in Yorkshire.  I heard about them through an Instagram post by Claire Montgomerie, a yarn guru and Editor of Inside Crochet magazine, who I met when she taught at West Dean College.  I was lucky enough to be able to buy a sample apron named Doris which my Doris is modelling here!  The fabric is a very sturdy pinstriped denim which I think will last forever.  The Stitch Society guarantees its products and will carry out repairs if they are ever needed.  They even shortened the apron for me – and it came in its own bag with a little badge and a needle case.  I’ve decided this purchase definitely doesn’t breach my unwritten pledge to limit the purchase of new RTW!

Anyhoo, back to the important business.  There was quite a lot of interest in this giveaway and I always wish there was something for everyone but the winner this time is ……. Sheila from Sewchet.    Sheila is the organiser of #stitchingsanta which was a great success so I’m pleased to be able to send her something, although the shirt is destined for her daughter.   Sheila – you already have my email address so let me have your home address and the shirt will be on its way to you.  Otherwise DM me on Instagram.

It was a busy weekend as we’ve been celebrating my parents’ diamond wedding anniversary.   I think they looked gorgeous in their wedding photographs!  It was a freezing day with a smattering of snow on the ground and my mother eventually had to resort to a coat!   Her outfit looks like a suit but was actually a dress in a pink textured fabric.  I’m pretty sure she still has the little sparkly bag somewhere.

All this is helping to distract me from the fact that for some reason I seem to be without my sew-jo at the moment.  Not sure why but I hope it returns soon!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Giveaway Winner and a Celebration

  1. Congrats to the winner, I hope they enjoy wearing it and also to your parents! Again, the dress is lovely. The sewing thing comes and goes for everyone! And just now we’re in between seasons and that never helps! Have a look round the shops for inspiration from the new styles coming in. I noticed recently lots of bomber style jackets, not something I would normally wear, but I’m tempted by one in a floral, of course. OR get practising on that overlocker OR completely ignore me, because sometimes I still sound like a teacher!!?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love that denim apron, really fabulous. I don’t think that counts as RTW as it was lovingly made by hand. Hope your sew-jo return s soon we all have times when we don’t want to see and then out of the blue that passion hits us with a fresh wave of enthusiasm. Congrats to your mum and dad what an achievement, their photos are great too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Louise. I’m glad you agree on the apron purchase scenario! I’m sure I’ll be back on track soon, it’s weird because I’m usually pretty motivated on the creative front.

      Like

Leave a Reply

