Me Made May 2017 – halfway round up

If you follow me on IG you will have seen all this already so feel free to look away now.

This is the third year I’ve taken part in MMM and each time it’s had quite an impact on the way I view the contents of my wardrobe.  Since May 2015 I’ve almost stopped buying new RTW clothing and this year, although it wasn’t part of my specific pledge (which was to wear at least one me-made item a day), I’ve decided to be pretty ruthless to make sure everything fits/is comfortable/doesn’t have holes in it.  If I’m not happy with something it will either get altered straightaway or sent to the charity shop.

Here’s what I’ve worn so far.  Tights are very much in evidence, as are scarves!  And curtain fabric turned into skirts and dresses!

Action taken so far :

  • Coco top from Day 2 is in the recycling bag.  I’ve never really liked the fabric and it has gone a bit bobbly.
  • Skirt from Day 3 – one of my all time favourites – has had a new invisible zip inserted.  I made this skirt before I mastered the invisible zip and my centered zip wasn’t up to much!
  • Skirt from Day 4 has been taken in as it was too big round the waist and is being worn again today.
  • The Gable top from Day 14 has had the front neckline dropped slightly and no longer feels like it is choking me!  Also being worn again today.

I’m pretty happy with everything else.

Day 10 was a bit of a cheat because I was so keen to wear a dress I’d bought from a secondhand shop and just couldn’t wait until June!  I did use one of my Anya bags made from the pattern by Zoe and as she is the creator of MMM I decided it was OK.

I never think I’ll being able to keep up daily posts on IG as I HATE having my photograph taken but I’ve even posted a proper photograph taken by Mr Jane Makes.  I’m usually hiding behind my phone with a mirror selfie!  Thank you to everyone for all your lovely comments – it really boosts my confidence.

Another reason I’m glad of the daily photographs is that I’ve been able to make this comparison.  Regular readers will know all about Mr Jane Makes’ heart attack last June and his pretty impressive four stone weight loss since then.  The stringent portion control and lack of inappropriate food around the house + increased exercise had a beneficial effect on me too.  Here I am wearing the same skirt in May 2016 and May 2017.  Since last May the skirt has been taken in – removing a total of four inches from the circumference of the waist!

Looking forward to the rest of May – and hopefully some better weather!  It’s pouring with rain at the moment and I’m back in tights.

5 thoughts on “Me Made May 2017 – halfway round up

  1. I really enjoy your style, Jane. There’s a little bit of fantasy with the fun prints (great skirts!), but still a clean, classic element. You have a definable personal style that is naturally chic.

    I need to try this photographing of outfits. I feel a need for a small style reboot so it would be helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Stephanie! I really do find this process helps focus my mind on what in my wardrobe actually works for me and what doesn’t. There will be a few things heading for the charity shop by the end of the month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

