Taking Stock #2

Following on from my last post, here’s the second pile of fabric from my sewing room and the plans I have for it.

  • I picked up the New Look pattern from the first meeting of the new Chichester sewing group so thank you to whoever donated it.  See below for a reminder about the next meeting.  I have two possible fabrics for this dress.  The one on the left is another Lucienne Day print from the Peter Jones sale.  This one is called Serenade.  I will probably underline or line this one as the fabric is quite lightweight.  The floral fabric is a curtain remnant from C & H fabrics and has a bit of a 60s vibe which I think will work really well.  Not sure if I’ll make a toile.  Probably, I usually do.
  • The second fabric is a barkcloth which came from the Olympia Knitting & Stitching Show a couple of years ago but I can’t remember who I bought it from.  I’ve made Simplicity 1109 several times and it works well with a fabric with some structure.  I believe this fabric frays like mad which has put me off using it so far.
  • The paintbrush fabric was a vintage charity shop find for £2.  It is slightly bonkers.  The pattern is the Sew Over It Tulip Skirt when it was originally published in Simply Sewing magazine.  I’ve made it twice before but both skirts are now too big.  They are in the alterations pile and I may tackle them eventually as they are both made with fabric that I particularly like.
  • I’m well behind everyone else on the Cleo dress bandwagon but I got this pattern for my birthday from Baby J’s mum and dad so that bypassed the pattern buying embargo.  The fabric is a grey denim from Ditto.  I also have to confess to buying a loose weave denim from The Fabric Godmother on Saturday which will also become a Cleo!
  • The next photo doesn’t look much different from one in Post #1 but this fabric is a very lovely mustard/gold denim from The Fabric Godmother.  My first Brumby skirt was made from this fabric and I miss it as it no longer fits.
  • Finally, I don’t think this fabric made it into one of the piles.  It is a pair of curtains from a vintage sale that really need another wash as they are still slightly musty!  I’m going to try the Deer & Doe Chardon skirt as I’ve seen quite a few of these on IG over the last year or two and I love the pleats.

Perhaps one of these will be the fabric I cut out to take along to the next meeting of the sewing group on Wednesday 12 July – TOMORROW!  If you’d like to join us come along to St George’s Church Hall in Cleveland Road, Chichester from 7.00 – 9.00 pm.  We’d love to see you.  Here’s the report on the first meeting.

 

8 thoughts on “Taking Stock #2

  1. Pingback: How many mistakes ….. | Jane Makes

Leave a Reply

