Sewing Group #2

Karen and I were both nervous about the second meeting of our new sewing group.  What if the first one had been a one hit wonder and nobody turned up?  We needn’t have worried.  We had another great turn out and the hall was a hive of activity!

We failed to take a single photograph but thankfully the lovely @cathysewsstuff assumed the role of official photographer.

We had crochet, sewing, embroidery, cutting out (first ever dress from a pattern) and a cosy patchwork quilt from felted sweaters.  I can’t wait to see this one finished.  Our official photographer was also making a quilt from denim and fabric scraps from some of her previous makes.  I wish I had a photograph to show you, it’s such an unusual design.

As mentioned in my last post, I cut out this pattern to take along.  I’d picked it up from the swap table at the first meeting so I was pleased to be making use of it.

I did make a quick toile from an old bed sheet to check the fit.  I went with the bust measurement because the rest of the dress skims the waist and hips.  I have to admit that if something doesn’t really work at the toile stage I usually decide it’s not for me unless all that’s required is a minor tweak here and there.  I’m in awe of people who can undertake complicated fitting manoeuvres!  I didn’t have enough fabric for the collar so will try that on another version and I decided to go for the short sleeves.

I cut out the fabric in advance and despite plenty of chatting I managed to sew all the darts (front and back), shoulder seams and make up the neck facing.  I did unpick one bust dart and re-sew it when I got home because I wasn’t 100% happy with it – but I was just being picky!  More on this pattern when I’ve finished the dress.

There was cake … these are salted caramel and chocolate cookies! There were also chocolate brownies made by Karen.

IMPORTANT NEWS :

We’ve now booked dates for the sewing group for the rest of the year :

  • 9th August
  • 13th September
  • 11th October
  • 8th November
  • 13th December

Hope you can join us for all or some of these dates at St George’s Church, Cleveland Road, Chichester from 7.00 – 9.00 pm. Watch this space for details of some upcoming special events!

5 thoughts on “Sewing Group #2

  1. Pingback: New Look 6145 | Jane Makes

  2. I have spent several delightful hours catching up on your blog, and dashing off down ‘rabbit holes’ via your links – looking a fabric shops, patterns, other blogs etc – such a great way to spend some lazy time!
    Well done on the success of your sewing evenings – what a brilliant idea. Pity I’m so far away. But, if ever I’m planning a trip, I shall keep those dates in mind xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed catching up with my blog Gill! I’m really happy about the sewing evenings, so good to get a group of creative people together like that. If you are ever down this way at the right time it would be brilliant to see you! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

