Vintage + Vintage

I was really pleased with the style and fit of my grey denim twill version of this re-issued vintage pattern from the 1960s so had always had planned to use it again. Apologies for a second post about it so soon after the first but the new version is quite different.

When I spotted this piece of vintage fabric on The Eternal Maker’s de-stash I ignored my decision to forego fabric purchases in May. It was my only deviation from my no new fabric commitment.  As I’ve previously reported, when I picked up my purchase from Anna she told me her grandmother had made a dress for her aunt from the fabric in the 60s and this piece was what was left over.  Anna had also altered and worn the original dress herself many years later.

It’s not a style of fabric I would normally choose but I’m a sucker for vintage fabric and even more so when I know the story behind it.   I realised after I posted this photo originally that the left hand image shows the reverse of the fabric.   Apparently it’s a common practice to use the ‘wrong’ side of fabric with Hawaiian prints and my sister has a beautiful chaise upholstered using the reverse of a Sanderson fabric.  I was tempted to try it out but in the end, after much standing in front of the mirror swapping from one side to the other, I decided to stick with the ‘right’ one.

A 60s pattern paired with a 60s fabric. Hopefully a perfect combination! I have so many things on my summer sewing list but I went ahead regardless.  I made no changes this time other than not make a mess of the bottom of the invisible zip and have to unpick it three times!  I also didn’t bother finishing the neck facing with bias binding as I only had some scratchy black binding to hand.  Pattern matching across the back wasn’t possible as due to insufficient fabric but I do have a small amount left that I’m tempted to make some ruffled cuffs with.  I may go back and do that at some point.

I wore the top to the theatre on Friday night to see Tennessee Williams’ “Sweet Bird of Youth”.  I wasn’t quite in line with the fashions of the era as the play was written in 1959 but not too far off!  I usually make ‘orphan’ skirts but to be honest this is a bit of an orphan top.  The only thing I had to go with it was some black trousers.  I rather fancy a pink skirt if I can find fabric in the right colour.

I hope I’ve done this fabric justice – I wonder if anyone in the 60s paired this fabric with this pattern?

NEWS FLASH!  Don’t forget that this Wednesday, 14 June, sees the first meeting of the new Chichester sewing group.  Click here for more details.

 

10 thoughts on “Vintage + Vintage

  1. I absolutely love the pattern on this 60’s fabric and had a vintage jacket in a similar pattern, but with more colours. I think you have done the fabric proud. I hope you do find a fabric to match the top and make a skirt. Oooh ruffled cuffs would be a lovely addition. Very posh.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Kerry! The idea of the cuffs is definitely growing on me – I love the ones on my Laurel dresses so will probably just use the same pattern piece.

    Like

Leave a comment